Moving Forward

Another week has flown by.  So many details to take care of.  Another Doctor’s appointment, talking with my pharmacist representative and setting up appointments for next week.  One of my Doctor’s put me back on Gabapentin.  I was on it before for the neuropathy pain in my feet and legs.  It did not help but they want me to try it again.  She felt I wasn’t taking enough of it.  So I start out with 300mg this week and if it is not working, I double the dose the next week.  She believes it will help me to sleep better as well.  I haven’t been sleeping much since Mom passed.

The last week of Mom’s life, I would lay on the bed near her.  I didn’t want her to pass while I was asleep, so I would wake up every little bit and turn over and see if she was still breathing.  I slept with a small light on.  Sometimes, I couldn’t see her chest move up and down so I would sit up until I could see her chest move.  I prayed that God would not let her pass while I was asleep.  I still find myself waking up and looking to see if she is still breathing.

In my prayer time, Monday, a scripture was brought to my remembrance.  Romans 8:28  “And we know that ALL things work together for good to them who love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.”

I started researching this scripture and asked myself what was meant by “the called?”  In Romans 1:7 the word says that we are called to be “holy people”.  In this present age, how many people feel like they are suppose to be holy?  You certainly can’t find too many on TV that have been called to be holy.   On my FB page, there are lots of people who don’t even bother to filter their language.  I don’t usually let it bother me.  I just hide the remark and keep scrolling.  TV channels are the same.  Keep clicking til something comes on (usually old) that I can watch.  I guess I am not too concerned with what other people are doing.  I’m more concerned about what I am doing??

In 1 Peter 1:13-16, Peter writes to believers, “Therefore, prepare your minds for action, keep sober in spirit, fix your hope completely on the grace to be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ. As obedient children, do not be conformed to the former lusts which were yours in your ignorance, but like the Holy One who called you, be holy yourselves also in all your behavior; because it is written, ‘You shall be holy, for I am holy.'” Peter is quoting from Leviticus 11:44 and Leviticus 19:2.

This seems like a tall order.   Be holy in all your behavior.  Surely Peter didn’t mean that for today, yet I think he did.

Romans 11:29 says that “His call is irrevocable.”  The dictionary says that the word irrevocable means,  “not able to be changed, reversed, or recovered; final.”  In simple terms, once you have been called then it is final.   There is no going back.

These thoughts brought me peace and have come back to me this week over and over.  There was a statement in my journal this week.

“Each sunrise is a reminder that Jesus Christ brings us out of darkness and fills our lives with Hs glorious light.”  I looked this up on the internet to see where this came from.  I found many scriptures which indicated that Christ is the light.   In this I am most confident.

I pray you have a wonderful weekend.
Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Moving Forward”

  1. Ginny Grisdale Says:

    Jenny, I am so sorry. I did not know your mother had passed. I am sure that Lee is sitting next to Jesus and she is at peace.
    Praying that all of you will be comforted and God will heal each of you.

    You are a gifted woman who loves the Lord and explains His Word so that is very clear.

    Thank you,
    Ginny Grisdale

    • sharpshooter77 Says:

      Thank you Ginny. It has been very difficult. You know how close all Mom’s daughter’s were to her. We have all circled around her for years. My heart hurts every day and we are just dealing with it one day at a time. Today we started cleaning out her linen closet. So so difficult. We are sending most everything to Columbia to the flood victims. Someone said they needed bed linens. Especially blankets. Thank you again for your kind remarks.

  2. dray0308 Says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    This is my aunt’s blog, Sharpshooter77 Blog!

  3. Tony R Says:

    Love your post. I believe that all Christians are called to be holy its just a shame that not many of them take it any farther than the church on Sunday anymore. However the only way that we can be holy is by submitting ourselves to the Lords will. We often find ourselves trying so hard to do what we think Christians are supposed to do but that is us trying to satisfy others views, our own views, and society’s views of how a Christian is supposed to act when what we need to be doing is reading the Bible, praying, and listening for the voice and will of God to lead us and when we hear it do not hesitate to follow it.
    Good post. I love Roman: 8. That is where we learn that we are free. Never to be bound again. Sweeeet.

    Tony R

  4. sharpshooter77 Says:

    Thank you Tony,

Leave a Reply

