Lifestyle Changes and Dealing with Grief

Since losing Mom on August 17, 2015, I have spent the last 6 weeks or so, dealing with grief,  Almost every morning I get up and think about what I am going to do for Mom today only to catch myself and remember that Mom is not here any more, at least, in her physical form.  It hurts my heart.

I made a few new beginnings.  I have gone to my Doctor and am dealing with my blood sugars which are too high.  I pay attention to my insulin and sugar readings.  I am paying close attention to what I am eating and drinking.

No more  drinking the wrong things.  Nothing  but lemon water, and hot tea now.  Eating NO sugar, No white potatoes, limiting carbs and replacing with vegetables.  That’s my new lifestyle. I am eating No pork or gluten either.

My blood sugars have come down some but not enough.  The doctors have had me increase insulin (Lantus) but my sugars are still high.  My fasting Blood Sugar this morning is 182.

On the positive side, I have lost 11 pounds since September 2nd.  I imagine most of that weight is water weight but I will still take it.  The nutritionist is going to call me this week and we will probably discuss portion sizes and see why I am not losing more.  I know I need to incorporate more exercise into my lifestyle changes.  Something I intend to do soon.

My nephew writes a blog, Dream Big, Dream Often http://dreambigdreamoften.co/2015/06/27/habits-of-successful-people/.  In this blog, he mentioned getting up early and making his bed.  It helped him to get the day started on the right foot.   I realized that I needed to start this habit.  When I was taking care of Mom, I just was not making my bed.   That has changed.  I get up and make my bed now.

I also make sure I take my medicine.   I had been putting myself on the last item on my to do list.  Trying to change that isn’t easy.  New habits are hard to form.    Here is a good article on the time it takes to form new habits if you are interested.  http://www.bustle.com/articles/58195-how-long-does-it-take-to-develop-a-new-habit-66-days-says-science-or-debunking

Dealing with grief is a difficult process.  One day at a time.

Blessings to you.

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Lifestyle Changes and Dealing with Grief”

  1. dray0308 Says:

    Thank you for the mention! And I am proud of you for taking a few steps forward! Evelina and I will come by this week to say hello! love you. D

  2. dray0308 Says:

    Reblogged this on Dream Big, Dream Often and commented:
    This is my aunt’s blog page. Give her a read and a follow…thanks all!

  3. Marlton Trainer Says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  4. trishnugentwriter Says:

    So sorry to hear of yourThe most important thing now is to take care of yourself. xxx

  5. Tony R Says:

    Hang in there. I know that it is hard. I lost one of my parents last year and I can only just now start thinking about him without getting teary eyed and having a knot in my stomach.
    I have found that making a ritual for morning and evening is good for helping you feel good about yourself. In the evening I try to do things that make me comfortable and promote good rest. I try to watch things that are not to exciting or controversial. I take time to relax and pray. I check my nails to see if they need to be done. Lotion my legs, feet, hands, and arms. These things are especially effective because I am a guy and guys don’t usually pamper themselves like this but it makes me feel good to be good to myself.
    In the morning I do things that are energetic and motivating. Starting with exercise. Then a shower with a soap that has a great smell. I have found that a good smell wakes me up better than just about anything. Once I made the bed like you were talking about but that only made my wife mad because I usually get up about 3 hours before she does and I got punched for making the bed with her still in it.
    I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers and you remember to be good to yourself.

    Tony R

    • sharpshooter77 Says:

      LOL – I am a morning person too. I don’t really blame your wife though. LOL Love your sense of humor.

  6. indusinternationalkitchen Says:

    Sorry for your loss. Hope you feel better soon! And its great that you are paying more attention to your health now. Take care, Indu

  7. jacquelineobyikocha Says:

    Dealing with grief is not a quick fix or an easy road to travel. It’s been 2 years that my dad moved on, yet there are days that it hits me hard and I would miss him so badly. I am sorry about your loss and what I can say is that a positive frame of mind and lots of prayers, steadies the heart and the mind. Be strong and remain blessed.

Leave a Reply

