Why Study Bible Prophecy

I saw a post on FB recently.  It was a post of Uncle Sam bowed in a Church praying asking God to save this land from those who wish to destroy it.  Something akin to anger rose up in me as I realized that we are where we are in this country because as Christians we have either sat silently  while or country has changed or complained about our countries situation instead of actively using our voices to bring about a return to putting God first.  What is happening to our country.  The foundations that this great country was built upon God and freedom of worship.  Today, our foundations are being eroded and are being set on fire.  Our  basic beliefs are burning one by one.  I could use statistics to prove that our society is losing ground morally but I won’t at least not now.

The remark I posted on FB was this.   “We need a revival in this country, in every church, in every home. We are being attacked at our very foundations and most Christians are asleep and going with the flow.   I believe to start this process EVERY christian should get in the WORD and understand bible prophecy. If we do that we will look from Genesis to Revelations for scripture that God is fulfilling in our life times.  Most of our pulpits are quiet today on prophecy.  Bible prophecy is really important?”  We should not remain quiet. 

After writing that remark I started thinking about what I had written.   Usually, I always look for the log in my own eye before pointing out the log in other people eye.  This started me asking questions.  Is studying bible prophecy so important?  And if so, how important?   Some people think that  people who expend more than a passing moment examining Bible prophecy are   uneducated or crackpots and lunatics yearning for the destruction of the world? Is Bible prophecy really relevant to the gospel?  Or is the image that is sometimes given of Christians who are mad and believe in anything related to prophecy helping give a false image of the Bible and ministry of Jesus Christ?  These are just a few of the questions that came into my mind.   

I answered these question for myself when I became a Christian many many years ago.  I was praying about where to start my bible reading and Revelations kept coming into my mind.  I thought that I was thinking crazy but because I kept hearing it, I started reading it.  I soon learned that to understand Revelations one needed to also understand the rest of the bible.  My study of Revelations and prophecies has been a lifelong project ever since.

2 Timothy 3:16-17

King James Version (KJV)

16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

17 That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.

When the bible says “all” it means all scripture.  That should be good enough without any other reason.  But the bible has a lot more to say about prophecy.

Revelation 19:10

King James Version (KJV)

10 And I fell at his feet to worship him. And he said unto me, See thou do it not: I am thy fellow servant, and of thy brethren that have the testimony of Jesus: worship God: for the testimony of Jesus is the spirit of prophecy.

Without prophecy there would be no messiah and without the messiah there would be no need for Jesus.  Jesus came and thorough his birth, ministry, crucifixion, resurrection and ascension fulfilled prophecies.  By doing so Jesus authenticated his claim to be the one and only true Christ.   In essence, Bible prophecy is the most powerful witness to the divinity of Christ. So don’t listen to those who claim that Bible prophecy distracts us from the true Christian mission. Quite the contrary, all Bible prophecy points to Jesus Christ Himself.

The old Testament is still filled with many prophetic scriptures that are still to come to pass.  Jesus himself had a lot of instructions regarding prophecy.  He rebuked the Pharisees for not recognizing the signs of the times.  They knew about the scriptures regarding the Messiah, yet they chose to ignore Jesus who was standing and teaching in front of them. 

Matthew 16

King James Version (KJV)

16 The Pharisees also with the Sadducees came, and tempting desired him that he would shew them a sign from heaven.

He answered and said unto them, When it is evening, ye say, It will be fair weather: for the sky is red.

And in the morning, It will be foul weather to day: for the sky is red and lowering. O ye hypocrites, ye can discern the face of the sky; but can ye not discern the signs of the times?

A wicked and adulterous generation seeketh after a sign; and there shall no sign be given unto it, but the sign of the prophet Jonas. And he left them, and departed.

And when his disciples were come to the other side, they had forgotten to take bread.

Then Jesus said unto them, Take heed and beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and of the Sadducees.

And they reasoned among themselves, saying, It is because we have taken no bread.

Which when Jesus perceived, he said unto them, O ye of little faith, why reason ye among yourselves, because ye have brought no bread?

Do ye not yet understand, neither remember the five loaves of the five thousand, and how many baskets ye took up?

10 Neither the seven loaves of the four thousand, and how many baskets ye took up?

11 How is it that ye do not understand that I spake it not to you concerning bread, that ye should beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and of the Sadducee’s?

12 Then understood they how that he bade them not beware of the leaven of bread, but of the doctrine of the Pharisees and of the Sadducee’s.

13 When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I the Son of man am?

14 And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets.

15 He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am?

16 And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God.

17 And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Barjona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.

18 And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

19 And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.

20 Then charged he his disciples that they should tell no man that he was Jesus the Christ.

The religious leaders of Jesus’ day did not recognize who he was.  They were suppose to be watching and waiting for His first coming. Yet, they were asleep.  It makes me wander if we are asleep today. 

We should be excited watching and waiting for His second coming.  We should be studying prophecy, we should be looking at all the scriptures regarding His second coming and Bible prophecy.  We should be having Bible Studies on prophecies.   Are we to be like the Sadducee’s and Pharisees or are we going to be ready for his arrival?  

Maybe you are excited.  Maybe you are watching and waiting for His second coming.  In fact, maybe that is why you are reading my post today.  I have a lot more I want to say about this subject.  A lot more scriptures I want to post about why we should study Bible Prophecy.    Thank you for reading this and allowing me to vent a little this morning.  I hope you will return to read more about this subject later.

Wake Up!!!! 

Blessings and Shalom through Christ Jesus our Lord and Savior.

more later…

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

