Hope Hope Hope

I have a friend  who has a son with cancer.  For months we have been praying and believing God for his healing.  Todate we have not seen the manifesting of that healing.  This  friend is a mentor and confidant.  We have spent 20 plus years discussing the Word of God.  I sent this email to encourage my friend.

Email:

I am struggling with a cold but your email reminded me of   one of our  discussions regarding hope.  I think we were at the beach and we were talking about your sons and you told me about putting them totally in God’s hands.  You spoke about having confidence of our God.    Anyway, I want to give you a few verses that you know so well.  You have always been an inspiration to me and my heart is with you now.

Hope for Hopeless Situations

Romans 15:13 Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Hope is precious and priceless. It is divinely powerful. If our heart is full of hope, the future indeed looks bright before us and we see the present as a pathway into God’s good plans for our lives (Jeremiah 29:11). On the other hand, if we lack or lose hope, nothing in the present can console us. All seems lost and thoughts of the future fill us with dread.

The problem with hope

In practical terms the problem with hope is that it is so easily and painfully dashed. Old Job spoke with vehemence about the misery of shattered hope and his torment was magnified because he imagined that God was somehow set against him: He breaks me down on every side, And I am gone; My hope He has uprooted like a tree (Job 19:10). But God is never against us—only against our sins. If He were ever against us, we could have no hope.

I am well acquainted with the problem of hope.  When my nephew was injured and everyone was praying.  We all believed he would be healed and that he would live.  His Father made a statement afterwards.  “I would have changed his diapers for the rest of my life.”  And he and my niece would have.  He was so loved.   If you remember, when my brother  died, I was laying on my face at our Church praying for his life.  And then many years before that my youngest brother Richard was killed in a motorcycle accident.  No one wants to deal with the tragedy’s that life brings.  But we do.  I face the same problems today.  I have felt moved to pray for Mom and command dementia to leave in the face of that debilitating disease.
The heart break comes because His ways are just not our ways, nor His thoughts our thoughts—yet we keep setting our hopes on what we think God will do. Then, when things don’t go as we imagine, our hope crumbles into dust. If this happens often enough we lose heart, become discouraged and join the unhappy throng who try to guard their hearts by not getting their hopes up too high.  Not believing in miracles and  accepting what life and Satan throws at us.  And I dare say, don’t even ask God for the impossible, for miracles.

Hope, Hope, Hope

I am reminded of Romans 8:28. I am so thankful that God inspired Paul to declare that we can know that all things work together for good to those who love God. How do we know this? By faith in God’s Word. If we will just do the hard work of believing (John 6:29), we will discover this incredible word is true. And is it ever dynamite! This one promise alone guarantees our hope—absolutely everything, no matter how bad or bleak it may seem, no matter whether it is in our daily life or our inner life—everything is being made to work for good! Make all of your discouraging thoughts bow before this one and you will never regret it. Cling to it with determined faith and may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit (Romans 15:13).

As Spirit filled believers, we put our hope, our faith and our belief in God.  We believe in miracles, we believe that God is still performing miracles today.  If we have enough faith, enough believing then God’s miracles will become manifest in our lives and our loved one’s lives.  I have been struggling with this question.  Why some are healed and other’s are not.  I don’t believe I have found the answer but I have found a clue.  When I felt the Spirit of the Lord tell me to pray for Mother by speaking to the dementia and telling it to leave  somehow I knew that I needed to continue praying for Mother every day.

I know you are in a battle and I have been searching for answers.  I have been asking God to heal your precious son and I know you have.  The encouragement I want to give you is found in this message that I found on the Internet.  My prayer is that you will find hope, hope, hope.  Here are some excerpts about John G. Lake’s  Ministry and I found it interesting.  He can be looked up on Wikipedia for his biography if interested.

John Lake had one the most miraculous ministries ever seen on this earth.. His ministry to Africa in the early 1900’s, was marked by outstanding manifestations of the Spirit of God and upon his return to Spokane in America, he opened what he termed ‘his healing rooms’ During 5 years of ministry there, over 100,000 recorded miracles and healing’s took place for the glory of God.. Spokane was declared one of the healthiest cities in America, mostly due to Lakes ministry.
There was one thing about his ministry that seems to have been, to a large degree, lost today.. and that is what I call ‘staying in there’ or persistence.. John Lake and the people in the ‘Healing rooms’ would minister to people every day until they were well, or in a position to get well. There is a tendency these days to pray once and if doesn’t happen instantly.. oh well..
“Why is this?” you ask? Why is it people get healed instantly and others not? Lake said  that the healing seems to be dependant on a couple of factors.

One is the amount of faith present and the other is how much of the Spirit of God is also present.. He believed that the Lord Jesus had such absolute faith and the ‘Spirit without measure’ that when Jesus ministered to people, the power of God simply overwhelmed sickness and disease and people were made whole. But even the Lord Jesus ministered to a man twice before he was made whole (blind man example) and the 10 lepers were ‘healed as they went’ The healing manifested as they were obeying the voice of Jesus and on their way to see the priests.
We do not have the ‘Spirit without measure’ as Jesus had. We do have ‘a measure of the Spirit’ that can be increased as our faith and love in Him grows.. Lake would say to people.. ‘Today, you have received a measure of the Spirit of God, so come back tomorrow and receive some more..’ They would pray and minister to people until they got well. Sometimes it was instant, other times it was progressive..
This seems to indicate  what the Lord teaches us about a ‘New Day’ .  We tend to see a day as a continuation of our lives.. and so it is but the Lord see every day as a new day.. He says a lot about it too!
“His mercies are new every morning” (not week)
“This is the day that the Lord has made” (again.. not a week or month)
“Give us this day our daily bread”

This is similar to the teaching of a “New Dimension” with the Lord.  It’s amazing how much power, yesterday and tomorrow have upon our lives. One has gone and the other hasn’t yet arrived. Yet they seem to hold tremendous power over us. That’s why Jesus said “Take no thought for tomorrow..” The apostle Paul said “This one thing I have learned, forgetting those things that are behind” We carry yesterdays baggage with us and then add tomorrows worries and wonder why we struggle through the day!! Have a read..
“His mercies (not mercy) are new every morning” So partake of them everyday!   It is important to continue to minister to people until they are well. If they don’t get it today  pray again tomorrow and so on..  I know Jesus wants to heal people so keep at it until they are  well.. or they give up! No-one, not even God can violate your free will. Jesus said to me once.. “If you don’t give up  neither will I”
If you are not well, then I would suggest you go and receive ministering until you are.. Don’t give up.  Give your willing permission to be ministered too and know that you are prepared to be persistent.
Here’s what Jesus said. “They shall lay hands on the sick and shall recover..” The Amplified version says.. “and they shall get well” Recovering is a process.. If you have been prayed for and hands laid upon you, Jesus said “you are recovering!” What do you believe? we see in James5:14.. “Are there any sick amongst you? (this is written to the church) Then it tell the sick what to do.. ‘Let them call for the elders of the church and let them pray over them anointing them with oil in the name of the lord.. (Now it tells you what will happen) and the prayer of faith (not unbelief) SHALL heal (that is, restore) the sick and lord SHALL raise them up and if they have committed sins, it SHALL be forgiven them” There are 3 ‘Shall’s‘ here.. NO maybes.. If you have been prayed for as above, then the Bible says the Lord SHALL.. heal and restore you.. Raise you up and forgive any sins.. All you have to do is believe what He said.. and give thanks..
“Thankyou Lord for healing me, Thankyou Lord you are raising me up and I am recovering.. I believe you Lord..”
The 4 main things that will stop this from working for you is:
1) Unbelief (no faith)
The Bible says: “Jesus could do no mighty work because of their unbelief” It doesn’t say He ‘wouldn’t‘ ~ It says He ‘couldn’t‘.. “Without faith, it is impossible to please God..” Heb11:3
“All things are possible to him that believes” (has faith). Faith ONLY comes from the Word of God. Just do what God told Joshua to do.. meditate upon the Word of God night and day.. It is just like a seed. It will go down into your heart and start to grow and bring for fruit (Faith is a part of that fruit!) Go and read Mark Chapter 4 and see what Jesus said about ‘sowing the Word of God’
2) Unforgiveness: (not forgiving others)
This will stop the power of God in a persons life faster than anything I have ever come across. Jesus said if you don’t forgive others, your Father in Heaven won’t forgive you!! Everybody loves Mark11:23 and 24.. but it also comes with verse 25.. “and when you stand praying, forgive.. if you have anything against anyone..”

3) Being completely out of the will of God:
You can be completely out of the will of God.  If God has called you to do something in the ministry or otherwise then go and do it.   “If you are willing and obedient, you shall eat the good of the land” “I come to do thy will Oh God”

4) Not walking in love:
Jesus said ” A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another AS I have loved you” It wasn’t a request! The Apostle Paul wrote “Make love your great quest…” Another Scripture says “Walk in love as dear children (of God)..”

Not walking in love towards people, will stop the blessing of God from operating in your life. WE are commanded to do so. As you purpose in your heart to do this, grace will be released to enable you to do it. You may (probably will, like me!) miss it now and again but as long as the decision is there, grace will enable you. If you miss it, then repent and move on.. None of this means God doesn’t love you, or that you won’t get to Heaven. He loves you because you accepted Jesus as your Lord and saviour. Jesus said.. “The Father Himself (tenderly) loves you because you believe on Me and that I came out from God” The help of the Holy Spirit: The Lord said to me a few weeks ago.. “The Holy Spirit is as passionate (willing) to help you as Jesus is to save you” Few of us would doubt the Lords willingness and sacrifice to save us from sin, yet very few of us seem to recognise that this same passion abides in the Holy Spirit, in regards to helping us. That is one of the reasons He came.. “I will send you another (just like me) helper” John14 ~ Ask Him for His help everyday. I lean upon Him greatly. I spend a lot of time in the Spirit, allowing His grace to pray the perfect will for my life and ministry. I treat Him just like Jesus. If the Lord Jesus Christ was walking the Earth now, we could go to Him and receive help for whatever we needed. The Holy Spirit is just like Jesus and He was sent to help us. He helped me receive my healing from diabetes and He is no respecter of persons (has no favourites) The Lord also said to me once. “The Holy Spirit will help you receive from the Lord son” So ask Him to help you.. Ask Him to help you walk in love. Ask Him to help you find God’s perfect will for your life. Ask Him to help you receive your healing from the Lord.. “Ask and it shall be given you…” Jesus said.

I don’t know if this will strike you the way that it has me BUT in it I believe a nugget can be found.  I intend to spend some time praying over each of these and hope you will also.  One nugget I believe we can take immediately is to continue in persistence.  Do Not Give Up.  Do Not accept the doctor’s word, do not accept what you see.  Believe God.  Though I may go down to the grave, I do so believing God and His truth and His Word for my life.  I am not trying to be preachy but am in the battle with you.

In Christ,

I hope that something in this letter may also help you in your situation.  If you would like me to join you in prayer please leave me a prayer request and I will do my best to make it a matter of prayer.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

