More of the same

Hi everyone.

Instead of writing about a specific thought today, I just wanted to ramble really and put down some random thoughts.

A friend of mine has received a bad report from his Doctor this week.   I have believed and still believe that God has provided the price for my friend’s  healing as well as for  my healing.  Jesus paid it all on Calvary’s hill.  All the while this life and death struggle is going on, taxes have to be paid and filed, dishes have to be done, meals prepared and so on and so forth.  In the face of the Doctor’s report it is so easy for our faith to waver and our thoughts to turn in directions that do not provide hope. 

It occured to me that many people are facing similar struggles as we are facing with our health.  Some of you may be facing financial struggles, others emotional problems, many facing divorces and deaths of family members and loved ones.  Here is the email I sent to my friend and also my daily devotion  from David Wilkerson.   

I have felt oppressed the last few days.  Sometimes discouragement comes in like a flood and wants to overtake us but I am lifted up.  Sister H. passed away this week and we lost a great woman of faith.  Then yesterday morning,  another lady I have been praying for passed away.  She has been sick for some time.   Things happen to us that makes us want to reexamine what we believe from God’s Word.  Satan whispers his deceitful lies to us.  When we won’t listen then he begins to shout it to us.
 
Sunday morning, our lesson was from Ephesians – putting on the whole armor of God.  Praise God.  The weapons in our arsenal are not carnal.  Our weapons are enough though.  Satan can only come at us through deceitful lies.  We live in a fallen world.  We live in a world where bad things happen to us.
 
 We live in a world where we are born  and where we will die.  Our job is to be like Joshua who was not faint of heart.  He led the Israelites into the promised land after wandering in the wilderness for 40 years because of being faint of heart and really unbelief.  I don’t want to wander in the desert for 40 years.  No, they did not have to face their giants but gradually one by one they dropped off without seeing the vision accomplished, without seeing the promised land, without experiencing all that God had planned for them.   I would rather be in the battle.     Joshua led them into a  land that flowed with milk and honey but was filled with dangers on every hand.  It was not easy for them.  It required “Blood and Guts”.  
 
Many of the Israelites died fighting.  I told someone recently that I would believe God, believe His Word and believe His promises.  I would rather go down to the grave fighting and kicking than to accept a lie from Satan.  I had a crisis of faith once that keeps me on course at times like this.  This is what I discovered.  When it get’s down to the bottom line.  What is the truth?  God is.  Either I believe him or either I don’t.  I made that decision a long time ago.  I believe God and everything God has to say in His Word.  My reasoning will fail me.  Only God will not fail me.  All of the Israelites are long dead.  But the one’s we remember and are recorded in history as accomplishing something were the one’s that crossed over into the promised land. 
 
As I read this devotion that follows I thought of you.

 
 

MONDAY, APRIL 12, 2010

THE WAY UP

I have known of great Christians who have experienced a trial so dark and deep
that life itself seemed almost not worth living. In his very darkest hour,
Jeremiah discovered a glorious truth that brought new hope and assurance to his
mind. It was something he already knew about God, but it didn’t touch his soul
until he came to the end of himself. He discovered that at the very bottom, God
was there! The farther down he went, the more God was to be discovered. God was
not to be discovered up there in some blissful soaring into untroubled skies,
but in the shadows of grief and despair. When Jeremiah hit bottom, he bumped
into God! He fell hard against the faithfulness of a compassionate God. Listen
to his discovery:

“God is a God of compassion…his compassions for me cannot fail…. They are
new every morning…great is his faithfulness…” (Lamentations 3:22-23).

Little by little, Jeremiah came to realize great truths that can only be
discovered by those who are down.

1. When I am at the very lowest point; when troubles flow over my heart like
water, and I say, “I am cut off,” God draws near and whispers, “Do not fear!”
(Lamentations 3:54-57).

2. When God seems to have “covered himself with a cloud, so that my prayers
could not pass through,” he will still see my oppression and will “judge my
case” (Lamentations 3:44, 59).

3. If the Lord allows grief and sorrow, he will at the same time uphold me with
abundant compassion and love (Lamentations 3:32).

4. God is not against me, trying to crush me under his foot when I’m down like
a prisoner in trouble (Lamentations 3:34).

5. God is not trying to sabotage any of my plans; he is not causing my
confusion; he is not working against me (Lamentations 3:35-36).

6. Even in my despair and bitterness, when I hated to face a new day, his
compassion failed not. His mercies were waiting for me, new each morning
(Lamentations 3:22-23).

7. Because God is always faithful, he will not cast me off. He will do right by
me and save me (Lamentations 3:25-26).

8. When I am at my lowest, I have nowhere to turn but to God, so I will lift up
my heart and my hands, and thank him for his faithfulness! (Lamentations
3:40-41).

9. Being down has spent my strength and hope. I am left empty and humbled, so
now I depend totally on his mercies! (Lamentations 3:18, 20-22).

Well that was the devotion and my email.  LET ME SHOUT LOUDER THAN SATAN.  YOU CAN BELIEVE GOD.  BELIEVE IN HIM.  BELIEVE HIS WORD.  DON’T WORRY ABOUT THEOLOGY.  GOD’S WORD IS SIMPLE.

OUR EXPERIENCE MAY TELL US TO QUESTION GOD.

OUR MINDS MAY TELL US TO QUESTION GOD.

OUR SPIRITS WILL TELL US TO BELIEVE GOD.   BELIEVE GOD.  BELIEVE HIS WORD. BELIEVE HIS PROMISES.  WHAT DO U HAVE TO LOSE?  EVEN IF  YOU  DIE, YOU WIN.  WE CAN’T BE DEFEATED AS LONG AS WE BELIEVE.

Many years ago, God gave me a chorus in the middle of a battle.  I would like to share it with you today.

I CAN’T LOSE

I can’t lose

I’ve got Gods whose for me  (Lose)

I’ve got Jesus with me (Lose)

I’ve got the Spirit in me

Angel’s camped around me

I can’t lose

 

I will sing

I’ve got faith in God (Sing)

I’ve got hope in Jesus (Sing)

I’ve got love of the Spirit

Angels sent out for me

I will sing

 

I will pray

And give praise to my Father (pray)

And give thanks to my Brother (pray)

And sing to my Spirit

Angels victors for me

I will pray

 

I will win

I’ve got God for my Father (Win)

I’ve got Jesus for my Brother (Win)

I’ve got the Wind for my Spirit

Angels round about me

I will win

 

I HAVE WON

I’ve got the grace of God (Won)

I’ve got the peace of Jesus (Won)

I’ve got the Fire of the Spirit

Angels victors for me

I HAVE WON

If you are facing a battle – Make this your battle cry –  I BELIEVE – Remember you have already WON.

GOD BLESS YOU ALL.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “More of the same”

  1. Gaynelle Keeling Says:

    Jenny,

    I like the praise chorus. If you have the music, you might want to share with Margaret. Also, thank you for reminding me that we cannot be defeated as long as we believe.

    Love ya,
    Gaynelle

Leave a Reply

