Are your prayers hitting the ceiling?

A friend recently posted a comment on Facebook  as follows: 

 (Name withheld from comment) has been laying awake praying this morning.   I have felt for so long that I couldn’t pray, didn’t know what to pray, kind of like my prayers were hitting the ceiling and coming back down! Thank you Jesus for Your presence, for wrapping Your arms around me, for loving me when I will never deserve it!

I remember years ago,  for several months  I did not feel God’s Spirit as I once was.  My prayers were bouncing off the ceilings and the answers to prayer that I had been seeing  just were not there like before. Yes, God was still blessing me and yes, I knew he was hearing my prayers but there was definitely a difference. I was reading my bible, doing the same things I had been doing yet there it was. Something… different.

I continued praying. One day, I went downtown and had lunch with a friend of mine.  I was telling my friend how I felt. After lunch, for no apparent reason my car headed for our Church.   It was Wed. and it was about January or February as I recall. Cold. I determined on the way over that I was going to pray until I broke through the frost. If I had to stay all day and all night.

When I got to church, I let myself in and went to the sanctuary. I didn’t turn the lights on and the only light was streaming through our  stained glass windows. Going to the altar, I spoke to God. “Lord, I need to feel your fire, your touch, your presence. Getting to the altar I knelt down. Instantaneously, immediately, I felt God’s overwhelming presence. Tears filled my eyes and His presence filled me from top to bottom. I lay on the altar for what seemed like seconds only to find it was hours.

Finally, I got up and went to the first pew where light was streaming in. I realized I was chilled from the cold but just sat basking in a peace that comes from knowing you have touched God. As I was sitting there God began speaking to me about some things. I won’t share them here but I will never forget those moments.   The comment from my friend  this morning refreshed all of this in my mind.

We are not the only one’s who have felt this.   Why does  it seem that sometimes our prayers are hitting the ceiling?     My Pastor’s wife  at the time and I spoke of this at some length.   We determined that it stems from inside each of us and we came up with several reasons that might explain what is happening.  

1. There is something inside ourselves seeking a greater relationship with the Lord Jesus.

 2. Perhaps it is the Holy Spirit wanting to take us to a new level of communication with our Lord. Many people just stop there and don’t go forward.

3. Some new work that God is doing in us and for us and perhaps preparing us for.

4. A new hunger for Him that is not being filled because we are body, soul and spirit and our bodies and mind do get in the way at times. 

5.  A new dimension of worship that we are being brought into.

We had others as well.   Each of us is different and at different stages of our walk as Christians.  ONE thing I do know is this.

 ALLOW GOD TO CONSUME  you totally and completely.  Take this opportunity to get serious with God. God Is WANTING to do something new and exciting in you. Don’t stumble now. Don’t relax now. Don’t accept this as just something that happens. Let God’s Spirit have control and you will see the mighty wondrous works of God in your life.

I have experienced it. I KNOW this.

If this is happening to you,  I am so excited for you. Get down and get serious. It may take you some time as it did me or it may happen in an instant but it is worth all your efforts.

Here are a few scriptures that speak for themselves. 

John 3:16-17
For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.
NKJV

John 1:12-13
But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name: 13 who were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.
NKJV

If we are a child of God, then we have to make sure that our relationship with God is in good standing.  Just like when we do something that displeases our parents and it strains the relationship for a while until we apologize and make things right, if we do something displeasing to God, that relationship will be strained and we need to confess, repent and make it right.

Ps 66:18
If I regard iniquity in my heart, The Lord will not hear.
NKJV

1 John 1:5-10
This is the message which we have heard from Him and declare to you, that God is light and in Him is no darkness at all. 6 If we say that we have fellowship with Him, and walk in darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth. 7 But if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin.

8 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. 9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us.
NKJV

1 John 2:15-17
Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16 For all that is in the world — the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life — is not of the Father but is of the world. 17 And the world is passing away, and the lust of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever.
NKJV

Matt 5:23-24
Therefore if you bring your gift to the altar, and there remember that your brother has something against you,  24 leave your gift there before the altar, and go your way. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.
NKJV

BLESSINGS TO EACH AND EVERYONE OF YOU.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Are your prayers hitting the ceiling?”

  1. Gaynelle Keeling Says:

    Thank you for sharing, Jenny. I have been there also. We must take time to listen——-I have really made an effort to do that this week, and God has opened up some opportunities for me . I am not a very bold person, but have had to ask God to help me in this area.

    • sharpshooter77 Says:

      Gaynelle,
      God also opened up an opportunity for me to lead someone in the sinner’s prayer this week. A former neighbor.

  2. Gigi Says:

    Thank you for sharing this. I am right now in that feeling that my prayers are just words but I know it will not always be that way. This is just something that happens to all of us at one time or another for whatever reason. But I know God is in control and we serve an AweSome God. He has got us!

  3. ashleynicole Says:

    Breath taking!!! I needed to read this! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

