Gluten Free Chicken & Dumplings – Just didn’t turn out

I  would like to catalog  my progress with gluten free cooking. Today I am trying to convert my southern chicken & dumpling recipe to gluten free. I also want to make it as easy as possible. All those steps you have to do for gluten free cooking requires too much effort for me. I am all about easy. I am also making a pot of regular chicken & dumplings for the family. My nephew Dylan loves my dumplings and his birthday is today. I don’t want to mess them up for him. We will see how the gluten free dumplings turn out. I am making a small batch for my sister and myself to try and can easily triple the recipe.   If they are at least partially as good, I will convert. Here is my recipe.

Recipe:

Dumplings:

1 cup fine ground rice flour
1 cup tapioca flour
3/4 cup tapioca starch
1/3 cup canola oil
1/2 cup to 1 cup milk
1 teap. salt
Mix dry ingredients – Add oil – Add in milk a little at a time until  dough is  much like biscuit dough. Put in fridge until ready to use.

then

1-2  large chicken breast
4-6 cups water
pepper
salt

Boil chicken in water with salt and pepper until tender.
Remove chicken. (Chop for later use)

Bring broth to a boil. Make dumplings by taking small amounts and patting until thin. Drop into boiling broth. Let dumplings cook on med. low until dumplings are done. About 20 minutes.

Add chicken back in.

Also add in 1 can of gluten free cream of chicken.

Dumplings are ready to serve.

Will let u know how this turns out before I publish.

I will rate them: Not worth trying
Alright but not like the real thing
Will follow this recipe in the future.

Results:  Not worth trying

Leave a Reply

