Anguish in Prayer

I recently heard part of a sermon on You tube by David Wilkinson on Anguish and taking the time to have a spirit that is searching for God’s miracles on others behalf . I have to say that this really impacted me. Perhaps because I have a very dear friend who has a tumor on the brain and has undergone brain surgery and also, family members who have healing needs as well.   Carrying others burdens when they can’t or standing in the “gap” (a place between God and man) is not an easy task.  It takes, concern, perseverance and an unshakable faith that God is able to perform devine works and it also takes confidence in his Word and confidence in GOD.

When I was a child I remember my Grandmother, crying out to God, seeking God on behalf of our family.  She would scribble on everything writing to God.  I still have some of these.  She would write on brown grocery bags or pieces of of scrap paper.  After she died, I found a piece of paper where she had written down, many years before about a cousin, John Harold,  who had been killed tragically in an automobile accident.  There must have been some concern on her part whether John Harold was saved or whether he wasn’t.  She said she had gone to prayer praying for him at 5am that morning and finished praying at 8 pm, asking God about John Harold.  She described her interceedings with the Lord as crying out to Him.  In her notes, she had a vision that evening of a child in the Lord’s arms and she knew that John Harold was resting with the Lord.  In our day and age of being so busy, there are very few people who take the time to go before the Lord in prayer like this. 

I believe David Wilkinson was giving the same kind of message to his Church.  The failure to do this is more lack of time than lack of concern.  But perhaps I am wrong.  We usually take time for what really concerns us.  I did a little research on scriptures regarding anguishing before the Lord and found that there are a great number of scriptures that relate to this in the bible.  Here are just a few.

  1. Isa. 38:2  Then Hezekiah turned his face toward the wall and prayed unto the Lord.  3.  And said remember now, O Lord, I beseech thee, how I have walked before thee in truth and with a perfect heart, and have done that which is good in thy sight.  And Hezekiah wept sore.
  2. Psa. 130:1  Out of the depths have I cried unto thee.  O Lord.  2.  Lord, hear my voice: let thine ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications.
  3. Psa 141:1  Lord, I cry unto theee: make haste unto me:  give ear unto my voice when I cry unto thee.  2.  Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense: and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.
  4. Eph. 5:18  Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints.
  5. Heb. 5:7  Who in the days of his flesh, when he had offered up prayers and supplications with STRONG crying and tears unto him that was able to save him from death, and was heard in that he feared:
  6. Luke 22:14  And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly:   and his sweat was as it were great drops of blood falling down to the ground.

Let’s all take time to go to our Lord and maker, Jesus Christ, in cryings of anguish.  Let’s lay before the Lord seeking His mighty power and His grace on behalf of our family, friends, our nation and Israel.  May God richly bless you in all that you do.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

